App Store Selling Stats – I DON’T GET IT!

OK, I just don’t understand how the top 100 paid apps are ranked or chosen?! For example my app TwitterView is ranked #84 in the category of Social Networking as of this post’s date. But guess what?..I’m having an average of 10- sells a day! So, is 10 considered high?? I don’t think so. Or is it considered normal, I really don’t know.

To make things clearer, here is a quick summary of the statistics for my app til this day:

Days after Release Units sold
1
3
2 16
3 15
4
8
5 8

It’s not clear what metrics and factors Apple takes when doing these rankings. Is it based on the number of sales over an Apps life-time, or a just a specific period of time? It would be interesting to get a more detailed look at the ranking process.

I would really like to hear from you and know what you think. Any developers out there who can give some other angle on how the App Store Statistics are put into order?

All the best,
Your iPhone Dev. Friend.

~ by Said Marouf on April 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
